85ºC Bakery Cafe

DSC_2696

If you live in the Southern part of California and love pastries then 85ºC Bakery Cafe is a place you must check out. Back in December, I was fortunate to try this Cafe shop in Hacienda Heights. I didn’t really know about the place, but one of my friends who I was traveling did. Apparently, this was a popular place to buy buns, sweets, and other type of pastries. In general, my friend described 85ºC Bakery Cafe to be similar to Chinese pastry shops we have in the Bay Area, but better. Due to this type of claim, I thought it be a good spot to stop by and buy some snacks for our long drive back home.

DSC_2699

Right away as you come inside, you can tell this is a popular spot. There were long lines, two different check out sections, a whole area for pastries, workers coming in-and-out of the kitchen to stock new food. It was damn busy when we got in there. However, I kind of liked it that way. By this type of environment, it gave me the perception that the food was fresh and didn’t contain any old bread on display. Consequently, making the chaos a hundred times more appreciated.

DSC_2698

As mentioned earlier, my friend described this cafe to the Chinese bakeries we have back in the Bay Area. Even though he was correct, 85ºC Bakery Cafe in my opinion is definitely better. The reason is due to this place having more variety and amounts of pastries compared to back home. For instance, back home there would be the typical Pineapple bun, ham and cheese bread, etc. However, 85ºC Bakery Cafe is that and more. I, honestly, saw dishes I have never seen before and if I did see ones I knew they were most likely bigger and fresher. I am not trying to diss food back home because they are definitely good too, but if I had to compare the two places. 85ºC Bakery Cafe is an extreme outlier for how Chinese bakeries should be for the customers’ experience.

DSC_2697

DSC_2703

DSC_2701

There were so many different pastries I liked from this place. Although if I had to give a suggestion, my favorite one was their strawberry flavored Half-Moon Cake. This bad boy is huge and affordable. In fact, all of their pastries are affordable for customers. This one, however, won me over due to how soft and sweet it was inside. The outer layer was a little dry for my liking, but once I got to taste the interior it didn’t matter. As mentioned earlier, this little guy is big. If I had to describe the size, I believe the Half-Moon Cake was probably close to half of a Football. Therefore, I say get this if you ever come by. It is huge, cheap, and sweet.

The great thing about 85ºC Bakery Cafe is that they are located in three different parts of Southern California. I am unable to really critique the other two shops, but through my friend I heard they are quite similar. As a result, if you are ever in Hacienda Heights; West Covina; or Irvine, you should check them out.

Later Days…

  • 17170 Colima Road, #A, Hacienda Heights, CA 91745
  • Diamond Jamboree Shopping Center, 2700 Alton Parkway, Suite # 123, Irvine, CA, 92606
  • 2626 E Garvey Ave S, West Covina, CA 91791

Monday – Thursday: 7am – 10pm
Friday – Saturday: 7am – midnight
Sunday: 8am – 10pm

CLICK ME! I’M THEIR WEB SITE! PEETA FROM THE HUNGER GAMES LOVES BREAD!